Week 14

My little cute monster is 3 months old! I don’t know why I like calling her a monster: poop monster, cute monster, booger monster, milk monster…she’s just my cute little monster and I mean it in the most endearing way. The more I get to know her, the more I’m getting to see her personality – a little monster or fierce fighter in every way. I can tell we will have our hands full with her (in an exciting way!). I am so excited to raise a daughter who will be fearless, supernatural and powerful! Here’s an unusual picture of her in a docile state looking at her new discoveries of her little footies this past week.

DSCF2273

Feeding

Colette seems like she’s eating better now. She’s still crying when nursing at times, but doing that less than before and eating more – averaging at least 20-30 minutes per feed.
Sleep
She’s tolerating a 4 hour cycle well!!! I was pretty hesitant at first because I felt like I was hardly feeding her anymore! And she is just a bit early to get into a 4 hour schedule (or entering at the earliest age range as per older versions of Baby Wise). One day I began to doubt myself because she couldn’t sleep well, but realized it was just because we were out the whole day, as she returned back to her norm the day after. Congrats my sweet child and congrats to me and daddy 🙂
We are discovering that she is having a harder time falling and staying asleep in her carseat when we go out. Even old tricks like car rides and rocking the carseat doesn’t do as much. I wasn’t sure if it was the carseat was getting too squished, so I took out the infant insert, but it didn’t make a difference. Towards the end of the week, we are hypothesizing that it’s because we have a very curious child, and she likes to discover and explore. So when she knows people are around, or when we are out, it’s harder for her to fall back to sleep after the 45min intruder hits. We are on a journey to discover if sleep training her will work when we are out. More to come on this!
Milestones
She is social-smiling more with people. Only babies can get away with staring at someone and be greeted back with positivity. Colette likes to look and stare at people until she can lock eyes. One of my favourite views of her is when I’m burping her in a seated position, and she is scanning around the room and absorbing everything with her mouth half opened and a concoction of milk and drool dribbling out of her juicy lips.
There have been a few instances where she starts shrieking! I was a bit startled at first, but it quickly turned into amusement. She seems to shriek in big group settings – I think it’s because she wants to be loud like everyone else in the room.
Baby is still not reaching for toys nor grasping yet! Still waiting for this milestone in great anticipation! My husband and I decided that once she starts reaching and grasping, we will know for sure that she has found her hands. Right now she brings her hands to midline and to her mouth, so I’m 80% sure she knows they’re there, but we want to reach 100%. And for us, there really isn’t any hurry. We will give her the time she needs to reach that place.
Summary
Image-1
In celebration of 3 months, I just want to celebrate and be thankful for everything we have experienced and learned about our little bundle of fireball!
  • She gets really excited when she wakes up and sees us after her sleeps. That’s when we find her squeals of delight!
  • She likes to smile with her mouth open, and as my dad says it’s very “cunning”
  • She likes to have big poops when she’s nursing. There’s only been a handful of times where she’s pooped when she wasn’t nursing.
  • She absolutely positively stupendously LOVES to talk! She will talk your ear off once you get her started.
  • She likes to sleep in her crib the best.
  • She prefers playing with people over her toys.
  • When she’s really excited, she will throw her body backwards.
  • She really likes her grape flavoured Dr. Brown’s gum wipes!
  • Tummy time is her hardest exercise as she almost starts sweating when she does it.
  • She loves it when we pray for her at bedtime.
  • She might see angels as she stares at the same corner of her room pretty consistently and smiles and squeals.
I’m sure we will discover more as the days and weeks and months go on, and I absolutely cannot wait! Our 4 hour schedule means 4 feeds per day: 7:30, 11:30, 3:30, 7:30.
DSCF2275

putting Colette to work

Leave a Reply

